Sons of Silverton


Manage episode 337589076 series 1385474
โดย WCPO และถูกค้นพบโดย Player FM และชุมชนของเรา -- ลิขสิทธิ์นี้เป็นของผู้เผยแพร่ ไม่ใช่ Player FM โดยมีการสตรีมเสียงโดยตรงจากเซิร์ฟเวอร์ผู้เผยแพร่ กดปุ่มติดตามเพื่อติดตามการอัพเดทใน Player FM หรือวาง URL ฟีดนี้ไปยังแอพพอดคาสท์อื่น

“Silverton’s a place, just like Brooklyn is a place.”

That's the message at the heart of Sons of Silverton’s music.

Emcees KyleDavid and Citoak have been in Cincinnati’s hip-hop scene separately for decades, working with acts like The Five Deez and The Watusi Tribe. But making music together didn't start until more recently, when KyleDavid rapped on a solo Citoak single.

“In the process of doing that, Sons of Silverton just worked its way in,” Citoak said. “It felt right.”

“We all have varied histories,” KyleDavid said. “It just made sense for us to come together.”

Since then, Sons of Silverton released “Or Forever Hold Your Peace” in 2017, and their latest album, “GodGotUs”, which dropped in 2021.

On the title track “GodGotUs,” Son of Silverton’s chanting chorus creates a driving energy of confidence and motivation.

For KyleDavid, it expresses positive momentum.

“You continue moving forward and keep driving and eventually things will work out in your favor,” he said.

The track serves as a history lesson in Cincinnati hip-hop, dropping long-gone venue names like Ripley’s and Sudsy Malone’s.

The music video for the song was filmed at The Lodge KY, the same venue as their WCPO Lounge Acts. The video also features a giant cutout of Ohio.

“Ohio is a hidden gem,” KyleDavid said. “We want to take the responsibility and onus of representing not only Silverton but Cincinnati and Ohio, and show the world there’s some talented, dope, hip-hop artists from this area.”

For their WCPO Lounge Acts session, Sons of Silverton were joined by DJ Rare Groove to perform “GodGotUs” and more songs from both albums.

Set list:

  • 0:00 - intro
  • 0:22 - "Let's Fly Yall"
  • 3:46 - "All Day"
  • 6:26 - interview
  • 12:19 - "GodGotUs"
  • 15:33 - "You Know Them As"
  • 18:03 - outro

See for privacy information.

80 ตอน