Australia’s submarines, mapping China’s technology giants, post-Covid nation-building

36:27
 
แบ่งปัน
 

Manage episode 295558408 series 1744494
โดย Policy, Guns & Money: The ASPI Podcast and The Australian Strategic Policy Institute และถูกค้นพบโดย Player FM และชุมชนของเรา -- ลิขสิทธิ์นี้เป็นของผู้เผยแพร่ ไม่ใช่ Player FM โดยมีการสตรีมเสียงโดยตรงจากเซิร์ฟเวอร์ผู้เผยแพร่ กดปุ่มติดตามเพื่อติดตามการอัพเดทใน Player FM หรือวาง URL ฟีดนี้ไปยังแอพพอดคาสท์อื่น
Arguably the biggest submarine program in the Western world outside of the United States, Australia’s submarine development continues to raise concerns around cost. Michael Shoebridge and Dr Marcus Hellyer examine the outcomes of the recent Senate Estimates in relation to the underwater program, and what the life-of-type upgrades mean for the submarine’s future. ASPI’s Mapping China’s Technology Giants project provides an overview of the global impact of Chinese technology companies. Tom Uren is joined by Fergus Ryan and Daria Impiombato for a discussion on how U.S. sanctions have impacted the growth of these organisations, and how the Chinese Communist Party’s political influence creates privacy concerns. In a conversation on nation-building, Dr John Coyne and Gill Savage discuss how Australia can re-think its approach to infrastructure in a post-Covid environment. Using the Port of Townsville as an example, they discuss how greater cooperation between regional, state and national governments can achieve economic, social and environmental prosperity. Mentioned in this episode: Mapping China’s Tech Giants: Reining in China’s technology giants: https://www.aspi.org.au/report/mapping-chinas-technology-giants-reining-chinas-technology-giants Collaborative nation building: Port of Townsville case study: https://www.aspi.org.au/report/collaborative-nation-building-port-townsville-case-study Guests (in order of appearance): Michael Shoebridge: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/michael-shoebridge Dr Marcus Hellyer: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/marcus-hellyer Tom Uren: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/tom-uren Fergus Ryan: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/fergus-ryan Daria Impiombato: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/daria-impiombato Dr John Coyne: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/john-coyne Gill Savage: https://www.aspi.org.au/bio/gill-savage

118 ตอน