E123: Jarvis Catoe

1:14:46
 
แบ่งปัน
 

Manage episode 293501556 series 2364481
โดย Wendynbeth Williams และถูกค้นพบโดย Player FM และชุมชนของเรา -- ลิขสิทธิ์นี้เป็นของผู้เผยแพร่ ไม่ใช่ Player FM โดยมีการสตรีมเสียงโดยตรงจากเซิร์ฟเวอร์ผู้เผยแพร่ กดปุ่มติดตามเพื่อติดตามการอัพเดทใน Player FM หรือวาง URL ฟีดนี้ไปยังแอพพอดคาสท์อื่น

This week Wendy and Beth discuss the case of Jarvis Theodore Roosevelt Catoe, a serial killer who was active from 1935-1941, but possibly as early as 1929, in Washington DC and New York, NY.

We dive into the setting (12:59), the killer's early life (24:43) and the timeline (30:38). Then, we get into the investigation & arrest (50:09) followed by "Where are they now?" (59:13). We get into our takeaways and what we think made the perp snap (1:00:25).

As usual, we close out the show with some tips on how not to get murdered (1:05:41) and our shout outs (1:10:17 ).

Thanks for listening! This is a weekly podcast and new episodes drop every Thursday, so until next time... look alive guys, it's crazy out there!

Sponsors

Best Fiends https://apps.apple.com/us/app/best-fiends-puzzle-adventure/id868013618 https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.Seriously.BestFiends&hl=en_US&gl=US Better Help betterhelp.com/fruit

Warby Parker warbyparker.com/FRUIT

Shout Outs

My Momma Told Me with Langston Kerman https://www.iheart.com/podcast/1119-my-momma-told-me-with-lan-69919303/ Snap Judgment: Hot Trash https://snapjudgment.org/episode/hot-trash-snap-spotlights-ear-hustle/

Where to find us:

Our Facebook page is Fruitloopspod and our discussion group is Fruitloopspod Discussion on Facebook; https://www.facebook.com/groups/fruitloopspod/

We are also on Twitter and Instagram @fruitloopspod

Please send any questions or comments to fruitloopspod@gmail.com or leave us a voicemail at 602-935-6294. We just might read your email or play your voicemail on the show!

Want to Support the show?

You can support the show by rating and reviewing Fruitloops on iTunes, or anywhere else that you get your podcasts from. We would love it if you gave us 5 stars!

You can make a donation on the Cash App

https://cash.me/$fruitloopspod

Or become a monthly Patron through our Podbean Patron page

https://patron.podbean.com/fruitloopspod

Footnotes

Articles/Websites

Murderpedia. (n.d.). Jarvis Catoe. Retrieved 05/06/2021 from https://murderpedia.org/male.C/c/catoe-jarvis.htm

Keller, Robert. (04/30/2015). Serial Killers: Jarvis Catoe. Keller on The Loose. Retrieved 05/17/2021 from http://www.robertkellerauthor.com/2015/04/serial-killers-jarvis-catoe.html

Meaghan. (01/13/2012). 1943: Jarvis Catoe. Executed Today. Retrieved 05/22/2021 from http://www.executedtoday.com/tag/jarvis-catoe/

Evening star. (08/29/1941). Officials Act Quickly to Prosecute Confessed Killer of Seven Women. Chronicling America. Retrieved 05/22/2021 from https://chroniclingamerica.loc.gov/data/batches/dlc_1tatlin_ver01/data/sn83045462/00280602930/1941082901/0735.pdf

Arizona Republic. (09/03/1941). Rapist-Slayer Held For Jury. Newspapers.com. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from https://www.newspapers.com/clip/9334840/arizona-republic/

Casetext.com. (10/05/1942). Catoe v United States. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from https://casetext.com/case/catoe-v-united-states

Wetsch, Elisabeth. (n.d.). CATOE Jarvis. Crimezzz.net. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from http://www.crimezzz.net/serialkillers/C/CATOE_jarvis_r.php

Gueli, Cindy. (n.d.). Scandalous Washington: World War II Edition Part I. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from https://cindygueli.com/2015/09/08/scandalous-washington-world-war-ii-edition-part-1-2/

Garnett, Vance. (09/28/1997). HOMICIDE: WILL THE SHAKE-UP HELP? The Washington Post. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from https://www.washingtonpost.com/archive/opinions/1997/09/28/homicide-will-the-shake-up-help/bec5cb21-13ea-4c5a-b1b6-711c0a9693ae/

Time Magazine. (09/08/1941). CRIME: Stay Away from My Door. Retrieved 05/23/2021 from http://content.time.com/time/subscriber/article/0,33009,849445,00.html

History

McQuirter, Marya Annette, Ph.D. (n.d.). A BRIEF HISTORY OF AFRICAN AMERICANS IN WASHINGTON, DC. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://www.culturaltourismdc.org/portal/a-brief-history-of-african-americans-in-washington-dc

Encyclopedia Britannica. (n.d.). History of Washington, D.C. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://www.britannica.com/place/Washington-DC/History

Brockell, Gillian. (04/16/2021). Desperate for freedom, 77 enslaved people tried to escape aboard the Pearl. They almost made it. The Washington Post. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://www.washingtonpost.com/history/2021/04/16/pearl-slave-escape/

Little, Becky. (07/14/2020). How Woodrow Wilson Tried to Reverse Black American Progress. History.com. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://www.history.com/news/woodrow-wilson-racial-segregation-jim-crow-ku-klux-klan

Carter, Elliot. (08/11/2016). Washington During Wartime. Architect of The Capital. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://architectofthecapital.org/posts/2016/7/30/washington-at-war

The Lipstick Brigade. (n.d.). Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://thelipstickbrigade.com/

National Park Service. (n.d.). Native Peoples of Washington, DC. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://www.nps.gov/articles/native-peoples-of-washington-dc.htm

Wikipedia contributors. (03/19/2021). Nacotchtank. Wikipedia, The Free Encyclopedia. Retrieved 05/24/2021 from https://en.wikipedia.org/w/index.php?title=Nacotchtank&oldid=1013011481

Books

Vronsky, Peter. (2021). American Serial Killers: The Epidemic Years 1950-2000. New York, NY: Berkley.

Podcasts

Williams, Alvin; Evans, Francel (hosts). (7/13/2020). Taxi Cab Confessions [Audio podcast]. Retrieved on 5/14/2021 from

Video

Gueli, Cindy. (08/20/2015). World War II Edition - Part I: A Serial Killer on the Loose. Scandalous Washington. Retrieved on 5/14/2021 from https://scandalouswashington.com/2015/08/20/scandalous-washington-world-war-ii-edition-part-1/

How Not to Get Murdered

https://www.experian.com/blogs/ask-experian/5-ways-to-buy-and-sell-safely-on-facebook-marketplace/

https://www.safety.com/rideshare-safety-tips/

Music

“Abyss” by Alasen: ●https://soundcloud.com/alasenhttps://twitter.com/icemantraphttps://instagram.com/icemanbass/https://soundcloud.com/therealfrozenguy● Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 3.0 License “Jeopardy”, “OUTCAST” and “Strange Times” by Yung Kartz https://freemusicarchive.org/music/Yung_Kartz Licensed under Creative Commons: By Attribution 4.0 License “Furious Freak” by Kevin MacLeod Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3791-furious-freak License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/3.0/ http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/ Connect with us on:

Twitter @FruitLoopsPod

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/fruitloopspod

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/Fruitloopspod and https://www.facebook.com/groups/fruitloopspod

156 ตอน